Ever since TnT has started, I’ve been doing reviews of songs that are either newly released or that I’ve recently discovered. I’ve realized however that I’ve never shared the songs that I cannot get over no matter how old they get. Then a prompt I found on Plinky really set this in motion and so these are the three songs that no matter what happens, I cannot remove from my iPod or stop singing to myself.

  1. Truly, Madly, DeeplySavage Garden (1997)

Off their debut self-titled album, this song cemented the Australian two-man band’s fame and presence in the pop music world, mainly because the song’s lyrics and melody struck a chord with almost all listeners across all generations. It doesn’t hurt either that its success can still be felt thirteen years after it’s release. You can’t help but swoon over the lyrics that Darren Hayes and Daniel Jones wrote, Hayes’s smooth voice, appropriate for this type of slow, romantic song, or the beautiful musical orchestration. With this song, the band played their cards right, even going as far to shoot two videos, the most popular of which in Paris, France, because accordingly it’s the most romantic city in the world. All these elements have made it my ultimate favorite song, and besides, what girl would not like to be at the receiving end of the following lines?

I’ll be your dream, I’ll be your wish, I’ll be your fantasy

I’ll be your hope, I’ll be your love, Be everything that you need

I’ll love you more with every breath, Truly, Madly, Deeply, do

Makes you kind of sad that Savage Garden disbanded in the early 2000s.  Here’s the aforementioned version of the video:

2. It’s My LifeBon Jovi (2000)

It's My Life (Bon Jovi song)

Image via Wikipedia

Many people state Livin’ On a Prayer as their favorite Bon Jovi song, but for me, it’s always been this one. I’m a 90’s baby, so I wasn’t familiar with Bon Jovi’s hard-hitting body of work until I hit my late teen years, but even until now, I feel a certain connection with the lyrics. Released from their sort-of-comeback album Crush, this song was an attempt for the band to show that they were able to take their 80s rock into the new millennium, while still being able to attract a new fan base. They managed to do just that and the proof is that they are still making music up to this day, even with moderate success and album sales. Using a talkbox and the same hard-hitting guitar-drum combinations along with every teenager’s dream lyrics reflecting independence and breaking-away, the song became an anthem. But you probably already know that because it’s just unavoidable. The video is entertaining and pays homage to the famous Tommy and Gina (from Livin’ On a Prayer as well as being mentioned in this song)

3. I Want It That Way Backstreet Boys (1998)

If you know anything about me, you’ll know that I have had a huge obsession with the Backstreet Boys ever since I was like six years old. If you don’t know me, then Hi, my name is Tal and I adore the Backstreet Boys. Therefore, this item on the list should come as no surprise. I chose this particular song not for the worldwide chart success it achieved but because it was such a defining song for people who grew up in the 90s (like myself) and who learned to integrate music into their daily lives.While Truly, Madly, Deeply is my absolute favorite song of all time because of how well it’s put together and It’s My Life taught me to love rock music, I Want It That Way was that one song that made rush to the music stores to get the album Millennium (which I still have to this day and consider it a treasure). Like almost all of their songs, the lyrics are designed to get you to sing along, not think profoundly. In fact, because of the impact it left, this became almost like a standard or format for the boys.  But then again you can’t forget how many times ” You are my fire, the one desire” and “I never wanna hear you say, I want it that way” where chanted by boy-crazed teenagers or pre-adolescents at the top of their voices. You may also be wondering just why this song was nominated for so many awards and was critically acclaimed, though the lyrics make no sense at all. Its video drove almost everyone to wanting their own private plane and having an airport all to themselves, where they could just dance and look pretty in an all-white ensemble ( a hilarious image, that somehow worked for the group). For old time’s sake, here it is:

Honorable mentions:  Total Eclipse of the Heart- Bonnie Tyler/ Dream On- Aersomith/ Lose Yourself- Eminem/ Bohemian Rhapsody Queen

Leave a Reply

